India lost the 3rd T20 by 14 runs as Australia won the multi-format series by 11-5 points



Despite the half-century of opener Smriti Mandana, the Indian women’s team engaged in batting harakiri, losing by 14 runs in the third and final T20 International, while Australia won the multi-format series 11-5.

Australia won four of the six White Ball games (three WODIs and three WT20Is) which led to an easy series win with the Indians playing better only on connections.

Chasing the challenging 150-run target, Mandana scored 52 off 49 balls, setting the stage for India for the second wicket with Jemima Rodriguez (23 off 26 balls) for 57, and the spectators lost 4 wickets at 10-run intervals.

For Australia, right-arm fast bowler Nicola Carey (2/42) was one of the bowlers, while Ashley Gardner (1/22), Annabelle Sutherland (1/13) and Georgia Werham (1/15) took one wicket each.

India have ended the tour of Australia with a heartbreaking loss, losing the already three-match ODI series 1-2, before leveling the rain-affected unique day / night Test.

India’s run chase started disappointingly as Gardner gave a catch to Vleemin in the second over off fine-leg and lost opener Shafali Verma (1) early.

But in order to pick up three fours in the fifth over, Mandana saw his wide-ranging shots – pulling, clipping the strips and hitting the covers area – in ridiculous touch.

As India reached 54 in the 10th over, Mandana and Rodriguez found the frontier and played cautiously.

Rodriguez hit a straight mid-on in the next over, but he left two balls in search of several, and Lamink was caught in the long-off.

Mandana soon reached his fifty off 46 balls with a four by Carrie, but four balls later, he was caught by Australia captain McLanning as India reached 93 for 3 at the end of the 15th over.

With 57 off 30 balls required, the Indian team chased down and lost two quick wickets, including captain Harmanpreet Kaur (13).

When she tried to clear the inner circle, Gaur had another failure as she drove straight from Sutherland to Landing.

Pooja Vastragar (5) was cleared by Carrie in the next over as India scored 99 for 4 in the 17th over.

From there, Australia could not look back as they restricted India to 135 for 6.

Richa Ghosh was unbeaten on 23 off 11 balls and Deepti Sharma on 9.

Earlier, opener Beth Moni scored a half-century, while Tahlia McGrath grew late with 44, while Australia were 149 for five.

The Indian bowlers, who opted to bowl first after winning the toss, took wickets at regular intervals, but scored 40 off the last 19 balls.

Left-arm spinner Rajeswari Kayakwad (2/37), Renuka Singh (1/23), Pooja Vastragar (1/24) and off-spinner Deepti Sharma (1/24) battled it out. Score freely in the middle overs.

Australia’s highest score was 61 off 43 balls with 10 fours.

In the end, McGrath was unbeaten on 44 off 31 balls and teamed up with Georgia Wareham (13 not out) to put Australia close to 150 with 32 valuable runs for the sixth wicket.

McGrath hit six fours and a six.

Yasthika Patiya was replaced by Harleen Deol in India. Australia also made a difference with the arrival of Annabelle Sutherland for Hannah Darlington.

With the opening match abandoned, India lost the second T20 by 4 wickets.


Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here