Last-minute messy World T20 pick Flip-flop: Thakur replaces Akshar



Akshar Patel has been replaced by Shardul Thakur in India’s squad for the T20 World Cup on Wednesday. The decision – a month after the Board of Control for Cricket in India’s (BCCI) original squad announcement – now replaces Thakur with Patel Kathuri on the list, with Shreyas Iyer and Deepak Sahar joining the fray.

The BCCI All-India Senior Selection Committee has added Kolkata Knight Riders’ leading scorer Venkatesh Iyer and seven other players to the squad.

“Shardul Thakur has been included in the main squad after discussions with the team management. All-rounder Akshar Patel, who was part of the 15-man squad, will now be on the waiting list,” BCCI secretary Jay Shah said in a statement.

According to ICC guidelines, any team participating in the T20 World Cup can change their squad by October 15.

No other reason has been given as to why Thakur is the middle-order left-arm spinner who has excelled for the Delhi Capitals in the current IPL. Patel took 15 wickets in 12 matches for Delhi, with an economy of 6.65. Thakur took 18 wickets for Chennai Super Kings in the final with an economy of 8.75.

The UAE leg-spinners of this year’s IPL have called for shots in most matches. The Indian team currently has Jaspreet Bhumira, Mohammad Shami and Bhuvneshwar Kumar as fast bowlers. Hardik Pandya is unlikely to bowl in the T20 World Cup as the all-rounder did not bowl an over for the Mumbai Indians in the second match of the IPL. For now, the role of the 28-year-old on the team seems to be the role of a batsman.

To help Iyer

The selectors also included opener Venkatesh Iyer in the list of players who will “help Team India in their preparations” for the tournament. Although Iyer can bowl, the 26-year-old is a revelation to the Kolkata Knight Riders with his bat. There is no clarity in the thought process that Iyer should be on the list of players to help the Indian team.

Along with Iyer, the others joining the team’s bubble in Dubai are fast bowlers Avesh Khan, Umran Mallik, Herschelle Patel, Lukman Mariwala, leg-spinner Kern Sharma and spinners Shahbaz Ahmed and KK Tham.

Indian squad for ICC T20 World Cup: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Bandh (wicket keeper), Ishant Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Sahar, Ravichandran Aswin, Shardul Thackeray, Varun, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami

Waiters: Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Sahar, Akshar Patel

The following cricketers will join the team bubble in Dubai and help the team in their preparation: Avesh Khan, Umran Malik, Hershel Patel, Lukman Marywala, Venkatesh Iyer, Karn Sharma, Shahbaz Ahmed and K.K.


Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here